Online Classes – Communicating with Teachers

My kids have taken, and are taking, some online classes. We love Landry Academy, Coursera, and other providers. 

One skill I wanted my kids to learn with the online class is how to appropriately communicate with an instructor/teacher. I know this will come up on college, so I want them to practice now. So far my kids have needed to ask for help on assignments, clarify assignment requirements, ask about grades and much more. In these emails I wanted them to be clear, polite, respectful, and purposeful. I was happy to help them at the beginning of their online careers, but after a few emails I wanted them to handle it themselves. 

Thankfully, as my kids were in the throes of learning these skills a friend sent me a link to a GREAT article. The article, from a college professor, is entitled How to Email Your Professor to Get a Response. It’s a must read for any student, but most definitely for online students. We’ve actually printed out the graphic and the kids use it as a guide for every email to their teachers. Now I can be nearly hands-off and know the kids are communicating clearly and respectfully on their own. I hope you and your kids find it as helpful as we have!

3 thoughts on “Online Classes – Communicating with Teachers

  1. So glad you are teaching your children this skill. As an online course teacher, I get too many high school parents emailing me instead of letting their children do it. And of course, many of the students are not good at expressing themselves well. It makes such a difference to get a polite email from a student that makes sense!

    • Thank you so much for the kind comment! I’m trying so hard to let my kids grow and handle things themselves, and I’m encouraged that we’re on the right track. I used to proofread, but I’m stepping back more and more and hoping our foundations will hold. Thanks again!!

      • I am sure they will. In my experience when parents are thoughtful about the way they homeschool and parent, they do a great job. But if they ask you to proofread, that is OK too. I even did it occasionally for my college kids! But let them determine when it is important to have an extra pair of eyes look at something.

Leave a Reply

