Homeschooling High School – Coursera and Other Options

As I start planning Big’s second year of high school, I am starting to think outside of the box more. There are some areas where we need some reinforcement, and others where she needs a jet pack and a maybe a parachute. One area I really want to shore up is writing. We’ve done a couple levels of IEW, an online course through Landry Academy, and other bits of instruction, but I want her to be STRONG. Math is easy for me to implement and grade, but writing is not. For that reason writing will be our major emphasis this upcoming year.

One short course she is taking toward this goal is the Adventures in Writing course through Stanford. It’s free, fun, and short. Big thinks it would be more effective for a younger crowd, but she is enjoying it. Unfortunately, it’s about writing, but doesn’t actually HAVE any writing assignments. It’s about a week long course and a good way to break up some early spring blahs. Reviewing the basics is almost always a good thing, and this course did it quickly and in a fun way.

I am also planning on signing Big up for the Coursera Academic English: Writing Specialization courses. This specialization is a set of  4 courses and capstone project. I’m not super sure what it all means, but I think it’ll be more rigorous than anything I can do locally. I am planning on having her work through the summer (you know, spring optimism and all), and then using any unfinished portions for her fall writing course. I think it should take about 6 months to complete. There is a fee for this series, though I am a little confused about how it works. I thought I read online it was $10/month or $50 total, but today I was reading $50/month. Honestly, $50 a month is pretty steep, so I am enrolling Big in the first course (for free – not an “enrolled” course) to get a feel for it, and then decide if we’re going to use it as a full course and pay the full enrollment fee. I have no idea if they run sales, but it might be worth watching over the summer.

 

For an art credit Big wanted to take the Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR specialization series. Again, with this being our first go at Coursera, (she’ll start this one Monday after the ACT), we decided to enroll in the first class ($79) and see how it goes. If it’s a good fit, we’ll continue on with the 4 fill courses and capstone. She really wants to improve her photography for the fall robotics season, so I think this will be a great series for her.

I know there are lots of other courses out there: Edx, MIT OpenCourseware, etc. and I am hoping to explore those throughout the summer and see how they might fit into our school planning.

How about you? Have you or your kids used Coursera or any other cool online platform?

One thought on “Homeschooling High School – Coursera and Other Options

Leave a Reply

