Landry Academy – Mid Semester Review

 

This is a follow-up post to my original, Landry Academy – Week 1 – A (Pre)Review post about our first experiences with Landry Academy. We’re now most of the way through a semester and I think I can give a much more educated review. For what it’s worth, this is my review. I wasn’t paid or compensated. We paid for the classes ourselves (but hey, Landry Academy, if you want me to do a give away with a review of an international mission trip…. LOL!!).

 

In my earlier post I covered

What is it? How’s it work?

Before the Class Started

Class Start

Lessons Learned So Far

so I won’t belabor those. Feel free to check them out here: Landry Academy – Week 1 – A (Pre)Review.

 

Where we stand now:

We’re in Week 9 now with both kid’s classes. We’ve missed our first classes and had to coordinate extensions, etc. so I feel like we’re really IN it, if you know what I mean.

 

Big:

Big is taking a writing class, and it’s fabulous. The workload continues to be fairly light, but I’m pretty strict so it’s likely a reasonable medium. She enjoys the class. I’m impressed with the addition of grammar to the curriculum. The teacher is easy to work with, and provides great feedback. When Big missed a class it was easy to watch the recording, and we arranged ahead of time for early turn in / extensions. I had to email the instructor directly (I had Big do it to encourage responsibility but she needed to hear from me) which I actually really appreciate. Some kids might work the system and I appreciate the back up. As the ultimate endorsement, Little will take this class next year, hopefully with the same teacher!

 

Little:

Little has really settled into his classes. Again, with missing a class, he had an easy time watching the recording and making up the work. For art, he had everything turned in early, so that was easy to manage. With robotics (which is an INSANELY FABULOUS CLASS FOR ANY KID WITH AN EV3 SET!!!!) he struggled with the programming, a lot. He put a TON of time into it, and the computer ate his program… Then we traveled… Then he spent a TON more time on the project… He couldn’t get it to work in the end, but the teacher was great. He arranged (himself – a HUGE step in maturity here) an extra help session and worked through some of the issues. The teacher really was great and despite the issues he learned a lot. He’s learning to manage his time better because he misses Youth Group on Wednesdays if his projects aren’t turned in. It’s been a GREAT learning experience for him. I have HIGHLY recommended the robotics class to a couple of friends (the depth with which they go through the EV3 is staggering to me!).

The art class has been great, too. For me, I love that art, (which all too often gets dropped here), is a priority and is happening regularly. The projects and workload have settled down and I think it’s a great class. I’m really enjoying doing the projects myself when I can. I would highly recommend this one as well!

 

Time (not including class time of 90 minutes/week):
Big: Writing – 2 hours/week

Little: Art – 1-2 hours / week (Week 1 was about 8 hours… then it tapered into Week 3 being about 1-2 per week); Robotics – Average of about 5 hours / week

 

Mid Semester Opinion:

I think I mentioned this in the other post, but I’ve already purchased more generic semesters. Big and Little are both registered for one class in the spring. I am LOVING this format for electives and general classes that don’t need to meet more than once weekly. I can’t see doing this for a skills class like math (unless you’re really just trying to keep a kid on track), but otherwise the format is great. We’ve had ZERO technical issues with anything from dropbox submissions to class streaming to communications, etc. It’s been great. I think this is the first online class my kids have taken that has had zero technical glitches.

 

I’ll hopefully follow up with a final assesment later in the semester. Please feel free to leave comments or questions if you have any! I’m no expert but maybe I can help!

One thought on “Landry Academy – Mid Semester Review

  1. Pingback: Landry Academy – Registration Opens Today for Fall 2016-2017 | Fried Clams and Sweet Tea

Leave a Reply

