Avebury Manor

After we finished the canal boat adventure we met up with some family friends and got to spend a couple of days hanging out. We essentially crashed a birthday event – which included a trip to Avebury Manor.

From (the endlessly reliable) Wikapedia: “Avebury Manor & Garden is a National Trust property consisting of an early 16th-century manor house and its surrounding garden. Avebury Manor & Garden is located in Avebury, near Marlborough, Wiltshire, England.”

The Manor home is amazing. The gardens are amazing. The henge surrounding it all is amazing.

How could you not take 100 pictures of this home?
image

The kids loved the giant checkers…
image

One thing we all LOVED was that the interior was filled with reproduction pieces of furniture and props. Each room represented a different time period, and you could touch and sit and try on almost everything. It was such a neat hands on place!!
image

One aspect of the tour that was interesting, and a little creepy, was the henge. Again, to quote Wikapedia, “Avebury (/ˈeɪvbri/) is a Neolithic henge monument containing three stone circles, around the village of Avebury in Wiltshire, in southwest England. One of the best known prehistoric sites in Britain, it contains the largest stone circle in Europe. It is both a tourist attraction and a place of religious importance to contemporary Pagans.”

image

It was very interesting – and HUGE. I was so saddened by the pagans in their pagan garb heading out to find energy or peace or whatever.

I’m quoting the Lutheran Hymnal here, but this is what I think of when I think of ROCK and RELIGION:

“My Hope is Built on Nothing Less”
by Edward Mote, 1797-1874
1. My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

2. When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

3. His oath, His covenant, and blood
Support me in the whelming flood;
When every earthly prop gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

4. When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found,
Clothed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne!
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

Hymn #370
The Lutheran Hymnal
Text: 1 Timothy 1:1
Author: Edward Mote, c. 1834, cento
Composer: John Stainer, 1873, arr.
Tune: “Magdalen”

[After we finished up at Avebury we drove to Stonehenge since it was so close. We were all pretty pagan-ed out by then so we just drove by. I asked the kids if they wanted to go to the henge and look, and they weren’t impressed. It was interesting that such a historic site was so dull and sad for all of us.]

I am hoping that the people who once lived in the manor and worshipped at this beautiful chapel felt the same way!!
image

Leave a Reply

