Art in Our House

With Little working on his Art Merit Badge, we’ve been exploring different art mediums this past week. It’s been a blast!! His troop has done most of the discussion work, so he had create 4 art pieces using 4 different mediums. I thought it would be fun for all of us to create some art, so we did acrylic collage, watercolor, and oil pastel projects this past week. Little’s been working on a pencil drawing on his own time, so that will be his 4th piece.

Our first project was one I saw on the blog Leading Little Hearts Home, and it’s a homage to the artwork of Eric Carle (The Very Hungry Caterpillar).

image

Big went with a gargoyle theme.

image

Little went straight up Dr. Who.

Our second project was a watercolor project I found on Pinterest. We even made our own watercolor paint, which was kind of cool.

Basically you draw a self portrait, color it with Sharpie and crayons (as a resist to the watercolors) and then blow watercolor paint on to make the hair (or exploding head if you’re a 12 year old dude).

image

We even got DH involved in this one!

image

This is Little…

image

Big, bringing it Manga style.

image

And me. I may make this my Facebook profile!!

Our third project was a pastel project I found, guess where… PINTEREST!! Yup. Again.

image

We had a blast breaking out the oil pastels and creating owls.

image

Big, working on the eyes…

image

Little’s owl.

image

My owl. We all decided the white looks like an egg, which is a little weird…

image

Big’s owl. I love the colors. I was teasing her that she’s a lefty the tree is backwards. She said mine was… LOL!

We all decided we love art time and need to do this more often. We’re going to try a once a week craft night. I can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

