Cold Allergy… Really.

I’m allergic to cold.

Really.

It’s pretty sad and funny at the same time.

The medical term is Cold urticaria. According to the Mayo Clinic, ” Cold urticaria (ur-tih-KAR-e-uh) is a skin reaction to cold. Skin that has been in contact with cold develops reddish, itchy welts (hives).” I haven’t been officially diagnosed, but I’m 120% sure.

I first remember being seriously affected by the cold in college. I’d I went for a run in the cold (I went to college in CT) and then in for a hot shower, I’d break out in hives. I’d scratch until my legs bled.

It was horrid.

A couple of years ago I nearly went into shock after a long walk in the cold and a sudden transition to the warm house. It was so scary. I ended up taking benadryl, warning slowly in a shower, and sleeping for hours. I had to brief the kids on what to do if I passed out. The whole event was terrifying. I was fine but now I’m ***very*** careful in the cold.

This week I went for a walk. My phone said it was 55…but it didn’t have the location thing on, so the temp didn’t update, and in actuality it was 34. I knew it was colder when I went out, but I thought it would be fine.

One mile…

17 minutes…

But I underestimated the 3″ of ankle exposed…

As soon as I got in the house I broke out in hives.

All over my feet and ankles.

image

I broke out the benadryl spray and waiting with a dose to take internally.

I sprayed and sprayed.

I was in tears through the pain and itchiness. It was horrible.

Thankfully, about 5 minutes later I was ok.

So…a Yankee displaced to the south, allergic to cold. Does it get funnier than that??!!

Leave a Reply

