Kind of a Bad Day

image

A couple of weeks ago I had a “Kind of a Bad Day” kind of day. It could have been a Terrible Day. But it wasn’t. I am grateful to God for His protection. The verses are from Psalm 139, NASB.

1 O Lord, You have searched me and known me.
2 You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
You understand my thought from afar.
3 You scrutinize my path and my lying down,
And are intimately acquainted with all my ways.

It was a Thursday morning. I had just eaten breakfast with a friend in a town about 20 minutes north of my house. The weather was clear and cool. I was driving home along a sort-of country road. It’s a 45 mph road, but people usually FLY on it.

4 Even before there is a word on my tongue,
Behold, O Lord, You know it all.

As I got close to town there was a trash truck in the middle of the road. IN THE MIDDLE! I had to come to a complete stop. On a two lane road. I was annoyed… (Thank you, God.)

5 You have enclosed me behind and before,
And laid Your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
It is too high, I cannot attain to it.

After I waved to the trash guys, I headed up a small hill, and then down a straight part of the road. I was going slower than the speed limit due to the trash truck. I was not on the phone. I was not distracted in any way. (Thank you, God.)

7 Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?

From the left I saw a flash of white. I laid on my breaks as hard as I could and turned to the right. I was trying to not t-bone the other car and to dissipate the impact of the crash. BAM.

8 If I ascend to heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in Sheol, behold, You are there.
9 If I take the wings of the dawn,
If I dwell in the remotest part of the sea,
10 Even there Your hand will lead me,
And Your right hand will lay hold of me.

Well, it didn’t take long for it to all stop. We both ended up in the grass. We both got out of the cars. We were both, essentially, fine. (Thank you, God.)

11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will overwhelm me,
And the light around me will be night,”
12 Even the darkness is not dark to You,
And the night is as bright as the day.
Darkness and light are alike to You.

I got out and checked on the other driver, as well as asking a guy at the stop sign to please stay and be a witness. He (witness) was great about it and agreed to stay. The other driver was older, but fine, and very apologetic. He was headed to the ER. His son was there. He needed to get to him. He had stopped at the stop sign and then pulled out. He didn’t see me coming. I had him call his family and I called the police. We met up after and talked. I asked if I could pray for him and his family. He said yes. (Thank you, God.)

13 For You formed my inward parts;
You wove me in my mother’s womb.
14 I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Wonderful are Your works,
And my soul knows it very well.

I called DH. He was home. He was dressed and putting his boots on. He was able to be there in 5 minutes. This is a huge deal as DH travels a TON and is OFTEN inaccessible. (Thank you, God.)

15 My frame was not hidden from You,
When I was made in secret,
And skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth;
16 Your eyes have seen my unformed substance;
And in Your book were all written
The days that were ordained for me,
When as yet there was not one of them.

The police came, and all the reports were made. The witness came and told me how impressed he was with how well I handled everything. (Thank you, God. for making me a witness to You!)

17 How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God!
How vast is the sum of them!
18 If I should count them, they would outnumber the sand.
When I awake, I am still with You.

The cars were towed. The witness took the other driver to the hospital to meet his family. DH tok me home. (Thank you, God.)

19 O that You would slay the wicked, O God;
Depart from me, therefore, men of bloodshed.
20 For they speak against You wickedly,
And Your enemies take Your name in vain.

When I got home I called the insurance company. The other driver was insured. That’s rare here. And huge. (Thank you, God.)

21 Do I not hate those who hate You, O Lord?
And do I not loathe those who rise up against You?
22 I hate them with the utmost hatred;
They have become my enemies.

The other driver admitted fault. He was honest and kind. It was an accident. Accidents happen.

Everyone was safe. (Thank you, God.)

There were no passengers. (Thank you, God.)

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart;
Try me and know my anxious thoughts;
24 And see if there be any hurtful way in me,
And lead me in the everlasting way.

And it gets even more amazing.

The guy who owns the tow company where my car was towed is a good friend. When I called him to release my car – he took the time to tell me all the stuff I needed to do before I let it go – down to taking my license plates. He saved me HUNDREDS of dollars. HUNDREDS. And he made the process so less scary. (Thank you, God.)

About 2 weeks before the accident, my brakes sounded weird. Bad weird. I took the car in the tire shop said they were fine. So we drove to TX. They still sounded HORRID. When we got home I impounded the car until I could get the brakes checked. Monday – three days before the accident – I had 4 new brakes installed. I am certain those brakes saved me and the other guy A TON of injury. (Thank you, God.)

We took the brake guys cookies on Friday the day after the accident.

So the car was totaled. I was sore – for about 36 hours. I actually saw the other driver less than a week later and he looked totally fine. Insurance did their thing. (Thank you, God.)

I have a new car I LOVE. (Thank you, God.)

And I had the privledge of seeing, first hand, the hand of God working in my life.

I saw it.

His fingerprints.

Everywhere.

Thank you, God.

Leave a Reply

