REVIEW : SchoolhouseTeachers.com Annual Membership

SchoolhouseTeachers.com Review

This is a product review for a Yearly Membership on the website SchoolhouseTeachers.com. I completed this review as a part of The Old Schoolhouse Review Crew.

SchoolhouseTeachers.com Review

So… what exactly IS SchoolhouseTeachers.com?

IMG_0532.PNG

SchoolhouseTeachers.com is a website which serves as the curriculum site for The Old Schoolhouse Magazine. At SchoolhouseTeachers.com you can take over 100 online classes. The classes that are available cover every age level from Pre-K to High School. These classes aren’t live – you can start them at any time and complete them at the pace of your student. [I love that option – since I’ve felt SO tied down to “live” online classes my kids have taken.] Some classes are more “core” – like math or history, but there are tons of fun, supplemental classes for all ages like Art, Guitar, or sewing.  There are also amazing classes and options for parents – like Nutrition, Homesteading, or College Choice Guidance. When I say “there’s something for everyone”, its not a platitude!

IMG_0533.PNG

Here’s a link to the pages with the class offerings for each age group so you can see what’s available:

Pre-K/Elementary

Middle / High School

Parents

Since I’m a mom of Middle Schoolers, I was drawn to the Middle School/High School offerings. For the full year content the following courses are available:

Animal Science French Music Theory
Architecture Geography Nature/Outdoors
Art Techniques Geology Play Production
Asia: Safari Guitar Pre-Algebra
Biology Imperial Russia Renaissance History
Classics-Based Writing Lapbooking Spanish
College Choice Guidance Literature Studio Art for Teens
Computer Science Literature Kits  Violin
Economics Mock Trial Writing
Filmmaking

After registering I showed the list to my 8th grader and she was instantly drawn to Film Making. Totally cool! It’s not anything I can teach, but it’s useful, productive, and cool. Recently Big has been very into making shorts and trailers with my ipad, so she was thrilled to get a chance to learn actual film making… She started nearly immediately.

I will freely admit that we haven’t been registered with SchoolhouseReview.com very long (a coupe of weeks), but so far I really like what I’ve seen. Big has completed nearly the first week of the filmaking class – in a couple of days. It’s not “easy”, she’s just thoroughly enjoying it and finding the material engaging. The beginning work is pretty academic – and while she can be a reluctant writer, she took on the brainstorming assignments with enthusiasm. I didn’t assign the class, (it’s totally voluntary – for a 13 year old!), and she mentioned to me today that she wants to get back to working on it. Sweet! I want so much for my kids to have “interest led” learning, and I am seeing where this class is a great fit for that. I call that a win!

Since SchoolhouseTeachers.com has classes for parents, I decided I’d take a look around and see what I could find that interested me. WELL!! I was shocked!! First, there is a “Supplementary Curriculum” for parents called MONTHLY MENU. I am so all over that. I looked through all of December and January and found a LOT of recipes I know my family will thoroughly enjoy. I don’t know about you, but I can get pretty stale with my menu planning, so this was an exciting find for me.

Another class I am TOTALLY having my kids start (this week actually) is the “Whole Food s Cooking with Sue Gregg“. I LOVE Sue Gregg and her totally down to earth approach to cooking whole food recipes. I have a number of her cookbooks and have always enjoyed the recipes. She’s all about health and nutrition – but in a totally approachable way. I am THRILLED this 14 week class is available and I can’t wait to add this to our weekly schedule.  I KNOW this will be a great fit for my kids.

Anything I didn’t like?

After looking through the Pre Algebra class, I wouldn’t consider it a full math class for a 7th or 8th grader. We’re math heavy here, so it wouldn’t fit us well at all. I think it could make a nice supplement or be used to help flesh out concepts a student is struggling with. For the elective classes I looked at, the syllabi looked great and struck me as appropriate for the suggested grade levels.

If you’re interested – you can check out more of the offerings, class samples, and site information HERE. Make sure you have a cup of coffee and a snack – there is a ton of great information there.

How much does it cost?
One membership (normally $12.95/month or $139/annual membership), is good for your WHOLE family. Since I’ve paid more than that for a live online 8-week class for one kid, I think it’s a great value. But, right now it’s on sale. Like a SUPER sale. Right now, SchoolhouseTeachers.com is having a huge sale. From now through Christmas Day at 11:59pm ET they’re offering 40% off the monthly membership ($7.77/month) or 50% off the Yearly Membership ($64.26/year). Homeschool families who join at this rate will keep it forever as long as they maintain a continuous membership.

SchoolhouseTeachers.com Review

My final thoughts after the first couple of weeks? I’m excited about this website and the enrichment class options for my kids. I am DEFINITELY having the kids do the nutrition course, and I am looking forward to Big enjoying the film making class. I’m sure in the spring, when things get a little dull, we’ll explore more of the class options. Since we live in a fairly rural area and we don’t have a lot of cool “extras”, I think this is a great way for my family to round out our homeschooling experience. And the price? In my opinion – excellent. For less than the half the cost of an 8 week live course for one kid, SchoolhouseTeachers.com provides access for your whole family – for a year. I think that’s an awesome value.

IMG_0516.PNG

One thought on “REVIEW : SchoolhouseTeachers.com Annual Membership

  1. Pingback: Awesome Deal: SchoolhouseTeachers.com | Fried Clams and Sweet Tea

Leave a Reply

