Weekly Report – August 29, 2014

image

It’s Friday!

I wasn’t going to do it. I was going to drink the coffee swill that I purchased and make myself drink it… But it’s Friday. Cheers to you and your iced coffee today, and for all of us making it through another homeschool week!

 

We had a pretty awesome week. I love doing Weekly Reports because I always amazed at how much we actually got done. If you worry about not getting enough done – track it. I bet you’ll be surprised!

I think I am going to try and be a little more systematic in my approach though. I am thinking of categories and will likely need to tweak these a little. But, here goes try number one:

 

Academics –

The Good –
We took Monday off from all but Math and Bible, and then had full days the other 4. If the kids are focused, we’re done by 2 easily. If not… Well. I’ve got nothing to say about that! I’m liking the groove we’re in with school. Math, History, and CLE stuff, (reading and LA), is going well.CNN Student News is still a highlight of our day. (And for those who watch… what is Friday?)

I’m still fighting writing and what we’re supposed to do with that, but I think I have a lead. More on that next week.

We’re still at a lesson a day with Big in Algebra 2, but we’ll slow down as needed. A local dad friend (and Doctor of Mathematics) is also teaching his dd algebra, and about to start Saxon Algebra 2 also, and we’re thinking it would be encouraging for the girls to hang a little. I think it’s a great idea. He suggested we trade math puzzles weekly which I think the kids would love.

BJU science is a welcome change in our day. SO glad we changed back. I still need to research lab stuff before it catches up on me!

The Bad or Ugly – The writing thing… and spelling may kill me. Literally. (A little Word Crimes joke there.) Need to get on scripture memory. We were supposed to learn 3 verses, we’ll do well with 2.

 

Fun Stuff –

The Good – Monday we went to see Moses’ Tabernacle as a part of the Messiah’s Mansion traveling ministry. It was AWESOME. HIGHLY recommended. It’ll have it’s own post next week. Five Guys Burgers didn’t hurt the trip either… 🙂

image

We also did a community service clean up project on Wednesday. It was a lot of fun. The kids and I have done it every year for the last 4 or 5 years, but we invited the church kids to attend with us. It was a ton of fun, good bonding, short, and free shirts.

image

The kids loved it.

The Bad or Ugly – We’re headed to the pool today. It’s going to be 95 and HOT. But the pool closes Monday. That’s BAD and UGLY. It’s been a great summer!

 

Working Out –

The Good – 2 days of TKD for the kids. I am rocking my FitBit, though the kids are not rocking theirs. Big is terrible with it, Little kills it when he wears it. I think it’s headed back to Little. My Max day was over 12,000. I am very proud of that day! LOL!

The Bad or Ugly – I still love food, sugar, bread, and pasta too much.

 

Personal –

The Good – a friend to road trip with, minimal naps this week (BUSY), walking is going better, had a chance to minister to a couple friends this week – including an awesome Project Runway marathon and fondue night!, great bible study, a mentor willing to drop stuff to meet with me, an amazing husband who listens when I go all crazy PMS (which, honestly, is rare), and then pretends to forget about it. :-]

The Bad or Ugly – friends bearing grief so big I cannot fathom, little done on house projects this week (I say “little” because I am holding out hope for Saturday!), aging mentally unaware parents who I live to far from to really help much

 

Verse I’ve prayed a lot this week, mostly for friends shoulder deep in life:

The Lord is the one who goes ahead of you; He will be with you. He will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed. Deut 31:8

Hope you had an amazing week, and fabulous iced coffee!

 

Linked at –

Weird Unsocialized Homeschoolers

 

One thought on “Weekly Report – August 29, 2014

Leave a Reply

