Weekly Report – 22 August 2014

It’s FRIDAY!!! Join me for an iced coffee and a little recap of our week….

image

I had a wicked case of insomnia last night, so the iced coffee is a must. I call it my Nice Juice. My super-amazing sister is a runner and super careful about her diet, and she reserves Friday for Dunkin Donuts iced coffee. Here in the deep, Deep South we have no DD so I think Friday will be Starbucks day for me. A totally legit finish to my week!

So, this week has been excellent. We're finishing up Week 3 in our Sonlight Core W schedule. I still love Sonlight. Love it!!

Awesome stuff we added this year – Current Events. You can read about it here. It totally rocks. It's our favorite part of the day.

Math, LA, Reading, and writing are plugging along. We're working through Essentials in Writing level 7, which is designed for Grade 7. I'm super sad to report that I'm not loving it. We have done IEW for years, and I think we'll be heading back soon. The Essentials in Writing program is so, so much easier than IEW. We're doing a lesson a day, though the recommend each lesson taking a day or more. For me, one paragraph for a 7th grader is a joke. I like that the approach is different than IEW and it's definitely shorter, but we need more. Writing is one of my focus areas for this year, so as soon as we finish this up we're moving on.

This week we made another huge curriculum change. This time… SCIENCE. For the past two years we've done BJU science with the online videos. It's awesome. It's rigorous, thorough, and biblically based. But, this is 8th grade for Big. One year left before HIGH SCHOOL. So I wanted this year to be lighter. More fun. Suck out all the joy while we can. And, this year BJU is earth and space. Big wants to be an astonaut. She LOVES space stuff. So I made the decision to skip out on BJU and make science super hands on and fun. I bought a few TOPS units and we started using them….

image

During Week 2 Big came to me and asked if we could change science. “It’s fun, but I’m not learning anything.” Well… OK! I didn’t expect that! So we discussed and came up with a plan: TOPS, and NASA unit studies until December when BJU goes on sale. Then, we buy BJU and cherry pick all her favorite topics. Little doesn’t care either way – so he’d be along for the ride.

Then we came to Week 3. Big came to me again. “Mom, I can’t make it to Christmas. This is awful. Please can we have Mrs. Vick back. Please.” I’ve never had one of my kids ask for harder, more challenging curriculum before. Like, ever. Little wanted to keep the TOPS, so he added his 5 cents, “But mom, we’ve used like 5 rolls of tape.” As if that would make me think it was rigorous! LOL!!

So, I ordered BJU Wednesday and the videos started up on Thursday.

Yup. Lots of $. (And I haven’t even considered the lab kit yet….)

Yup. About 45-50 minutes a day.

Yup. TOPS kits need to be returned.

But I’ve heard, “Thank you so much Mom for getting Mrs. Vick back!” and “I love this science!” and “It’s so great to be doing BJU again!” so many times in the past 2 days that it was all TOTALLY worth it. My kids loves science again. 🙂

And proving that my kids are a little nerdy… WW2 is a fascinating topic here right now. We’re in ancient history with Sonlight, but battle plans of WW2 are the “play” topic around here. Lots of discussion of airplanes. Army men are ready for battle (which the kids have planned out and involve all their homeschool buddies). Code Name Verity and the follow up book are being read and reread. Horrible Histories are being watched and read. I figure if we don’t learn much about Egypt, at least we’re learning some history!

image

And the other stuff:

Bible Bee oral is done!! The kids did great. I’ll post a whole post on this later. But – I LOVE the Bible Bee!! Final written exam is tomorrow!!

Big’s room is almost ready for paint. I hope we can put a coat on today…. more likely tomorrow. Wow, only like 2 years behind on this project.

Pool today. It’s going to be 110 heat index. Kids are pushing through schoolwork this morning! It will be a pool heavy weekend.

We made wontons last night – YUM!!!!

My whole wheat croissants were a fail. Apparently fatty baked goods need more gluten.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Report – 22 August 2014

  1. My older kids are learning about WWII right now as well, they told me it is their favorite history topic yet. We also read “Hey, Little Ant” this week.

Leave a Reply

