Weekly Report – 14 February 2014

This was a great homeschooling week!! We live in the Deep South, and were supposed to have some great winter weather this week. Well, much to the adult’s thrill, and the kid’s disappointment, we got a lot of nothing. I am totally OK with that! The local schools cancelled for 2 days this week. My rule is that I cancel for accumulation, so we pressed on and actually got quite a bit done. It was nice to have a break from some activities and just hide from the cold.

20140214-130219.jpg A weekly schedule at our house.

History / Geography-
We finished Week 28. The honeymoon continues as I am totally loving the Core F curriculum. It’s such a great fit for us. I will say that the writing is super weak to me, so I added IEW Bible Based Writing back in. In a few weeks we’re headed to an IEW live class, so it’s good for us to get back into the lingo and methods. The rest, though… LOVE it.

Bible –
We’re continuing with Sonlight Bible, which is basically reading 2 chapters a day, reading The Case for Faith, and memorizing scripture. I didn’t like the pick for this week’s memory passage so I went with Psalm 86:11-13:
Teach me Your way, O Lord;
I will walk in Your truth;
Unite my heart to fear Your name.
I will give thanks to You, O Lord my God, with all my heart,
And will glorify Your name forever.
For Your lovingkindness toward me is great,
And You have delivered my soul from the depths of Sheol.

Science –
Continuing with BJU 7 online, we are working through Chapter 18. BJU can be a little tedious, but it’s getting the job done. The kids are learning a ton and it gets done every single day. It’s great.

Math –
Big is plugging along with Algebra 1, finishing up through Lesson 68 and Test 16. She’s totally getting it and I’m glad we’re in a good math rhythm. Now Little…. He finished Horizon 6 today. We’ll start Algebra 1/2 on Monday. It’s kind of a sad / happy thing – like getting rid of the car seats. I’m a little nervous about the transition from a workbook to a textbook with a pencil hating boy – but he’s super sharp and he’ll get it quickly.

20140214-130324.jpg

20140214-130310.jpg Math test at Chick Fil A. It’s Valentine’s Day.

Language Arts –
Another week. Another 4 lessons. We skipped today. It’s my Valentine’s Gift. LOL. Here are some of mine:

20140214-130230.jpg

20140214-130246.jpg

20140214-130257.jpg

Reading –
Sonlight has broughtt back the joy of the Read Aloud, and I think that may be one of the things I love about it. This week we’re reading a biography on Mary Slessor. It’s fabulous and the whole family loves it.

We’re also reading Boyhood and Beyond, and I cannot recommend this devotional book highly enough. It’s absolutely fabulous for the 9-13 crowd.

Other Stuff –
The Lego Movie (great!)…Scouts…TKD…basketball…And I’m looking forward to a road trip with Big for lunch and shopping!! With the weather – lots of stuff cancelled…thankfully!

And CURLING. Man, I love the Olympics.

How was your week?

20140214-163215.jpg

Leave a Reply

