Homemaking Tuesday – $0.54 Breakfast for 4

20140128-075007.jpg

I don’t like breakfast. I know it’s the most important meal of the day, but it’s a hassle to plan and execute. It seems like I make the same things everyday. We’re not cereal people, (I’m too cheap to pay for milk that gets thrown out), so I stick with muffins, coffee cake, fruit, and the occasional scrambled eggs.

I fairly recently came upon a new recipe that we LOVE! Popovers!!

Cheap! Easy! Filling! Protein! Stuff that’s on hand!!

Does it get better??

POPOVERS
Mix together:
2 eggs ($0.20)
1 cup milk ($0.23)
(Better at room temperature)

Sift in:
1 cup flour ($0.10)
1/2 t. Salt ($0.01)

Stir until combined, but not super smooth. Don’t over mix.

Preheat oven to 425.

Spray down a muffin pan (I don’t have a “popover pan” and while I LOVE all things kitcheny, you really don’t need one). I usually get 10-11 popovers from this recipe. Fill 1/2 full.

Bake at 425 for 12-15 minutes, then turn oven to 350 and bake another 12-15. My oven runs hot so I go 12, and then 13-14.

These are great with butter and jam or lemon curd. Delicious!! I will say, I don’t care for them cold, but the kids do, so it’s all good!

Cost – $0.54 for breakfast for 4. Add in some fruit and milk and you’re set!!

Leave a Reply

